Latest Tracks
Roar – Chinese Tattoo "Roar – Chinese Tattoo"

After the breakup of his last band, Asleep In The Sea, in 2007, Owen Evans decided to go it alone, releasing a solo record under the name ROAR in 2010. That six-song album, I Can’t Handle Change, was decorated with simple, hand-drawn black and white portraits of Phil and Ronnie Spector – intended to show how collaboration can end up destroying your life. Deep stuff. Since then, he’s been working on his new album, I’m Not Here To Make Friends – four-songs of fuzzy pop that reminds you of 50’s surf rock as much as it does modern lo-fi. The first track on the album, “Chinese Tattoo,” is as much James Joyce as it is Rivers Cuomo, with sharp upbeat pop lyrics that just so happen to meander through a stream of consciousness without any repetition or chorus. Despite that, it’s catchy as hell, with pounding pianos intensifying throughout until they make you want to sing along at the end (if only you knew the words).

I’m Not Here To Make Friends is available in limited red vinyl quantities from Really Records or for download from Quote Unquote. ROAR is currently on tour but unfortunately, doesn’t appear to be coming anywhere near the District – follow along with his Twitter, Facebook, and official website to keep tabs on if he does.